Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Movies
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 11-03-2003, 05:10 PM   #1
Cassius
Enting

Gimli The Arts of War

Amidst all of the fighting and all of the plot, most people do not recognize what makes all of those cool fight scenes possible, the weapons. Now why don't we all just stop and take a look at what they are. For those people that have watched the special feature of the SE Fellowship, take note on how good a job the weaponsmiths did on making all of the weapons. Everything there is original work, handmade with the good old hammer and anvil in a really hot room. Then there is the articulation in all of the elf armor and weaponry with all of the smooth and graceful motifs that give it all a sense of death. Look how finely woven all of the itty bitty links on the Mithril coat are. I would like to say I am a weapons expert, but I am not, I just know a little more than most people how the job is done and how to spot something really good. Being A dwarf fanatic like i am I take extra interest in all aspects of the Dwarven culture.

-Don't understand, Just comprehend.
(Cassius)
Cassius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 09:31 PM   #2
Black Breathalizer
Elf Lord

This is a big reason why the films are so good and so popular. The filmmakers put the same attention to detail into most aspects of the filmmaking process at Tolkien did in writing the story. The only difference is that Peter Jackson and Company didn't have 15+ years to accomplish what they had to do.
Black Breathalizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 02:32 AM   #3
jerseydevil
I am Freddie/UNDERCOVER/ Founder of The Great Continent of Entmoot

Quote:
Originally posted by Black Breathalizer