Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Movies
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 02-01-2003, 02:35 PM   #1
Dúnedain
High King of Númenórë

Elvish when spoken....

I've been meaning to comment on this for a while now, but I kept forgetting so here goes

After watching the extended version of FotR, the scenes that were added back in during Lothlorien, I really noticed something about the Elvish language when it is spoken. It sounds so close to the spoken form of Latin. Has anyone else noticed that? If not, go back to the part where Galadriel and Aragorn are talking to each other in Elvish just before they leave Lothlorien, I really noticed it there, the way Galadriel speaks the similarities really come out there, in my humble opinion

Besides, with Tolkien being a linguist expert, I am sure he based it off of the Latin derivatives anyway....
'Et Eärello Endorenna utúlien. Sinome maruvan ar Hildinyar tenn' Ambar-metta!' - And those were the words that Elendil spoke when he came up out of the Sea on the wings of the wind: 'Out of the Great Sea to Middle-earth I am come. In this place will I abide, and my heirs, unto the ending of the world.'