Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > Other Topics > General Messages
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 05-09-2005, 12:14 PM   #1
Rían
Half-Elven Princess of Rabbit Trails and Harp-Wielding Administrator (beware the Rubber Chicken of Doom!)

The Crusades

I put out a general request for some knowledgeable person to start a thread on the Crusades, and no one did, so I am taking it upon myself to start the thread, because I like reading about history even tho I'm not good at it!

The Crusades have come up in two threads lately (the entertainment forum, about the movie The Kingdom of Heaven, and one of the religious-discussion threads), and there's lots of good info being posted. So I hope you guys that have studied this subject will post here so we can centralize the discussion.

Would some knowledgeable person please start us off by perhaps giving a general background and an overview of the Crusades?

"How lovely are Thy dwelling places, O Lord of hosts! ... For a day in Thy courts is better than a thousand outside." (from Psalm 84) * * * God rocks!

Entmoot : Veni, vidi, velcro - I came, I saw, I got hooked!

Ego numquam pronunciare mendacium, sed ego sum homo indomitus!
Run the earth and watch the sky ... Auta i lómë! Aurë entuluva!
Rían is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 03:22 PM   #2
me9996
Ring-smith

Location: Either walking across Rohan or riding through Fangorn forest
Well, the first crusade was to retake Juruselem (Please tell me how to spell it) from crazy Turkey people who didn't like pilgrums. (I realy can't spell) So they went over and took it back. Then they lost it and took it back meny times, evenculy they quit.

If there was a call I think it could happen again...
Has no authority whatsoever
Master of messing up
Master of spoiler tags

Thread killer
Ring smith

Merry Christmas!
They'd never say that (Part 2)

What happened to the dragon?
me9996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 03:31 PM   #3
Nurvingiel
Co-President of Entmoot