Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Lord of the Rings Books
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 12-29-2002, 03:33 AM   #1
sauron100
Hobbit

how powerful is Sauron?

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to this forum and i love the Lord Of Rings movies, especially The Two Towers.What interests me is Saurons power and who can challenge him.In the movie, the characters said that they were scared of Sauron, Gandalf feared him, and that Saramon treats him as his lord when they are basically the same type of beings.

Is Sauron the most powerful of these beings?Or is there a reason whey he is so feared even by other maier?I do know that it took only two people to cut the ring from his hand, which also begs the question, was that some kind of ploy to let the ring decieve everyone and bring darkness to everyone,because it does seem pretty weak for the Dark Lord to fall otherwise this defeats the purpose of their being a Dark Lord that rules all.
sauron100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 10:16 AM   #2
Taurwen
Hobbit

umm. I know that Sauron is pretty damn powerful. He is probably the most powerful single being in Middle Earth. However, the collaboration of other powers allowed for his defeat. There are probably other maiar that are stronger than he, in the Undying Lands, but this was Middle Earth's ordeal, which is probably why they wouldn't help.

I'm not completely sure on any of this, but thats my two cents.
And woods of nightshade morrowless.
The Sudering Seas between them lay,
and yet at last they met once more,
And long ago they passed away
In the forest singing sorrowless.
Taurwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 10:26 AM   #3
Elf Girl
Lurker

He was once a Maia, that is Gandalf's order, but he was the most powerful of them, and thus more poserful than Gandalf.
Elf Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 11:26 AM   #4
The Lady of Ithilien
Elven Warrior

Quote:
Or is there a reason whey he is so feared even by other maier
Two, I think: