Entmoot

Go Back   Entmoot > J.R.R. Tolkien > Middle Earth
FAQ Members List Calendar

Old 12-29-2002, 03:38 AM   #1
sauron100
Hobbit

Gandalf vs Sauron?

My understandings, and other members have told me that Sauron can easily kill Gandalf or Saramon or both in battle at the same time.Is this true or is their more to this than I understand?Can anyone tell me what the type of odds would be if Sauron had no ring against Gandalf and Saramon?Feedback would be great, I am a newbie so forgive my ramblings and some expert opinions would be greatly appreciated.
sauron100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 12:38 PM   #2
Sister Golden Hair
Queen of Nargothrond
Administrator

Re: Gandalf vs Sauron?

Quote:
Originally posted by sauron100
My understandings, and other members have told me that Sauron can easily kill Gandalf or Saramon or both in battle at the same time.Is this true or is their more to this than I understand?Can anyone tell me what the type of odds would be if Sauron had no ring against Gandalf and Saramon?Feedback would be great, I am a newbie so forgive my ramblings and some expert opinions would be greatly appreciated.
Well, Gandalf, Sauron, and Saruman were all Maiar. Sauron was more powerful IMO because he being evil was not limited in the use of his powers in Middle-earth. The Istari were sent by the Valar to aid the free people in their struggle against evil, but were not permitted to use their powers to their full extent in the human forms they had taken. Saruman was easily corrupted by Sauron from gazing into the Palantir.

"North away." he said: "to the swords, and the siege, and the walls of defence - that yet for a while in Beleriand rivers may run clean, leaves spring, and birds build their nests, ere Night comes."

AboutNewJersey.com - New Jersey
Travel and Tourism Guide
Sister Golden Hair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 11:43 PM   #3
Khamûl
Slacker
Warrior Admin